Choosing a Difficulty Level in Sniper Elite 5

When playing Sniper Elite 5, you are given the option to choose from four different difficulty levels. In this guide, we will explain the key differences between them and provide insight into the unique challenges of the Authentic difficulty level.

  • Choosing and Changing Difficulty Levels
  • The Authentic Difficulty Level and 3 Others
  • Custom Difficulty Settings

Choosing and Changing Difficulty Levels

When you start a new campaign in the game, you will have the opportunity to select your preferred difficulty level. However, this decision is not final since you can always change it later by accessing the pause menu and selecting the appropriate option (as shown in the picture above).

The Authentic Difficulty Level and 3 Others

The game features four main difficulty levels, each with its own unique options:

  1. Civilian (very easy)
  2. Cadet (easy)
  3. Sharpshooter (normal)
  4. Sniper Elite (hard)
  5. Authentic (hardest with unique challenges)

We recommend starting the game on either the Sharpshooter or Sniper Elite difficulty level, especially if you are new to the series. These levels provide a reasonable challenge while still offering some assistance with aiming and detection. Additionally, they make it easier to locate collectibles and complete optional objectives.

Save the Authentic difficulty level for your second playthrough, as it is much more demanding than the other levels. Here are some of its unique challenges:

  1. No user interface, no help for aiming or tracking enemies
  2. Realistic projectile physics – you must account for wind and distance when taking long-range shots
  3. Enemies are more skilled and can pose a greater threat
  4. No health regeneration – you must use med kits and bandages to restore health

Custom Difficulty Settings

If you prefer, you can customize the game’s difficulty options to your liking. This can be done in one of two ways: by using the separate settings in three categories or by using the sliders to adjust the specific difficulty elements.

The game settings offer various options for combat, sniping, and tactical choices. Combat options include opponent perception, character resilience, and ammunition quantity. Sniping options include bullet trajectory affected by wind, projectile physics, and the Empty Lung mechanic. Tactical options include information display on the screen, enabling or disabling HUD, and health or ammunition visibility. The advanced difficulty level settings offer a plethora of options for customization, such as turning off the Focus while keeping the rest of the settings or increasing the character’s health while increasing the effectiveness of enemy attacks.


What are the difficulty levels in Sniper Elite 5?

In Sniper Elite 5, players can choose from four different difficulty levels: Cadet, Marksman, Sniper, and Authentic. Cadet is the easiest level, designed for players who are new to the game or prefer a more relaxed gameplay experience. Marksman is slightly more challenging, with more realistic bullet physics and enemy AI. Sniper is even more difficult, with enemies that are more aggressive and better at detecting the player. Authentic is the hardest difficulty level, with realistic bullet physics, no aim assist, and enemies that are extremely deadly. Players can also customize the difficulty by adjusting individual settings such as enemy detection and AI behavior.

Which difficulty level should I choose in Sniper Elite 5?

The difficulty level you choose in Sniper Elite 5 will depend on your experience with the game and your personal preferences. If you are new to the game or prefer a more relaxed gameplay experience, Cadet or Marksman might be a good choice. If you are looking for a more challenging experience, Sniper or Authentic might be a better fit. Keep in mind that higher difficulty levels will require more skill and patience, as well as a greater understanding of the game’s mechanics. It’s also worth noting that playing on higher difficulty levels can be a more rewarding experience, as it requires more strategy and planning to successfully complete missions. Ultimately, the choice of difficulty level is up to you, so experiment with different settings to find the one that suits your playstyle.

Leave a Comment