Is it Necessary to Follow the Episodes Chronology in LEGO Skywalker Saga?

This page of the LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga guide provides information on the sequence of levels available in the game.

You will learn whether or not you need to follow the episode order or if you can play them in any order you choose.

  • Episodes 1-9
  • Choosing an Episode
  • Changing the Played Episode
  • Free Play

Episodes 1-9

LEGO Skywalker Saga is packed with content and covers all nine episodes of the three film trilogies. You can take part in the events of all nine movies while playing as your favorite characters.

The game has 45 levels to complete, five for each episode. There are also smaller main objectives to fulfill between the main story quests. The game has a plethora of optional activities, including exploring vast sandbox maps with plenty of side missions and challenges. There are also numerous collectibles throughout the game, obtained during the story quests and exploration.

Choosing an Episode

At the start of the game, three episodes out of nine are available:

  1. Part 1 – The Phantom Menace, the start of the prequel trilogy
  2. Part 4 – A New Hope, the beginning of the original trilogy
  3. Part 7 – The Force Awakens, the beginning of the sequel trilogy

You can choose your preferred trilogy first or the one you want to play the most. You are not required to complete the game in chronological order, starting with episode 1 and ending with episode 9. You can select the order that suits you.

The only limitation is that the later episodes of a given trilogy are inaccessible until you finish the previous one.

For example, you cannot begin with Episode 2 or 5. To unlock Episode 2 (Attack of the Clones), you must first complete Episode 1 (The Phantom Menace).

Changing the Played Episode

You do not have to complete an episode in one go. If you lose interest or want to follow a different plot, you can switch to a different episode. The menu has an Episodes tab where you can select the episode you want to play.

Free Play

The game also has a Galaxy Free Play mode that allows you to explore the sandbox areas and discover their unique content. However, you can only travel to the planets you have previously discovered during the story mode. The game does not give you immediate access to the entire map.


Do I have to follow the LEGO Skywalker Saga episodes chronology?

No, you don’t have to strictly follow the chronology of the LEGO Skywalker Saga episodes. The game allows you to play any episode in any order you want. Each episode is self-contained and has its own story, so you won’t get lost if you play them out of order. However, playing the episodes in order will give you a more comprehensive understanding of the overall story and the characters’ development. It’s up to you to decide whether you want to follow the chronological order or not.

Is there any benefit to following the LEGO Skywalker Saga episodes chronology?

Yes, there are some benefits to following the LEGO Skywalker Saga episodes chronology. First, playing the episodes in order will help you appreciate the overarching story and the characters’ development. You’ll also get to see how each episode connects to the others and how the story progresses. Second, playing the episodes in order will allow you to unlock certain characters and items that are only available in later episodes. Finally, following the chronology will give you a sense of accomplishment as you complete each episode and move on to the next one. However, if you prefer to play the episodes out of order, you can still enjoy the game and its features.

Leave a Comment